Back to Top

posticon Welcome

Print Email is the website for the Graduate Program "Medicinal Chemistry: Drug Discovery and Design" with the collaboration of Chemistry, Pharmaceuticals and Medical Departments of the Univercity of Patras.

posticon Headmaster's Greetings

Print Email

Welcome to the Medicinal Chemistry Graduate Program

Euromaster Labeled Program (ECTN Association)

The Graduate Program “Medicinal Chemistry: Drug Discovery and Design” of the University of Patras has completed its 19th year of operation. The program is a joint collaboration of the three Departments, Chemistry, Pharmacy and Medicine. The program has been successful so far with research and academic activities in the field of “Medicinal Chemistry” and it has been evaluated by the title of “Euromaster” from the ECTN Association (2010-2015).

The main research interests of program are focused on: i) rational design and synthesis of biologically active compounds implicated in diseases such as multiple sclerosis, diabetes, hypertension, cancer etc, ii) conformational study of pharmaceutical compounds and structural bioinformatics, iii) Structure Activity Relationship Studies (SARs), iv) development of methodologies for the synthesis and characterization of biologically active compounds, v) in vitro and in vivo biological assessment, vi) development of methodologies for analysis (pharmacokinetics, bioavailability) of pharmaceutical compounds, vii) development of supra-molecules for bio-mimetic systems. Over two hundred and eighty Masters and PhD students have graduated from the Program since 2000 which offered in particular more than 250 titles for the Master and 34 titles for the PhD Degree.

Since 2000, the program has organized seventeen (17) “Medicinal Chemistry” Conferences with International participation. The Program honors each year a distinguished scientist for the important contribution to biomedical research and science: James D. Watson, Nobel of Medicine and Physiology 1962, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, USA (2016), George Kollias, Professor of Experimental Physiology at the Medical School of the University of Athens and Director of the Immunology Division at the Biomedical Sciences Research Center "Alexander Fleming" (2015), Harald zur Hausen, Nobel of Medicine and Physiology 2008, University of Heidelberg, Germany (2014), Ada Honath, Nobel of Chemistry 2009, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel (2013), Kleomenis Barlos, Professor of Organic Chemistry, University of Patras (2012), James D. Watson, Nobel of Medicine and Physiology 1962, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, USA (2011), Andrew V. Schally, Nobel of Medicine and Physiology 1977, University of Miami, USA (2010), Dimitrios Nanopoulos, University of Texas, USA (2009), Jean- Marie Lehn, Nobel of Chemistry 1987, Louis Pasteur University, College de France (2008), Kyriakos Nikolaou, Scripps Research Institute, USA (2007), Aristidis Patrinos President Synthetic Geonomics Inc., USA (2006), Charalambos Gavras, Boston University, USA (2005), Konstantinos Sekeris, University of Athens (2004), Michael Maragoudakis, University of Patras (2003), Chris Platsoukas, Temple University, USA (2002), Athanasios Giannis, University of Leipzig, Germany (2001), Vasso Apostolopoulou, Austin- Burnet Research Institute, University of Melbourne, Australia (2000).

The success of Graduate Program mainly based on the efforts of faculty members of Chemistry, Pharmacy and Medicine Departments of the University of Patras, in the field of “Medicinal Chemistry”, in collaboration with researchers from other University and Institutes and to constructive cooperation with the Graduate Students.


Dimitris Gatos

Professor of Organic Chemistry

Head of “Medicinal Chemistry” graduate program


Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok Decline